Student-athletes, UVU community honored at Wolverine Club Awards

WOLVERINEGREENDOTCOM UVU Director of Athletics Mike Jacobsen
UVU Director of Athletics Mike Jacobsen

April 17, 2013

Photo Gallery

OREM, Utah -- The 2013 Wolverine Club Athletic Awards were held Wednesday night at the ballroom on the campus of Utah Valley University. Some 400 student-athletes, athletic staff, and Wolverine Club members were in attendance to honor the achievements of UVU athletics during the 2012-13 seasons.

Highlighting the night was the Bronze Wolverine Award, bestowed upon UVU Director of Athletics Michael V. Jacobsen for his distinguished service at Utah Valley. The Bronze Wolverine Award is the highest honor presented by the Wolverine Club and recognizes supreme stewardship and loyalty to UVU's students and student-athletes. In January, Jacobsen announced his retirement effective at the conclusion of the athletic year. His departure marks the end of 29 years at his post, an era that saw Utah Valley grow from competition in the NJCAA to the highest level of collegiate athletics -- NCAA Division I. To commemorate the sweeping growth and success experienced by UVU athletics in Jacobsen's tenure, the Bronze Wolverine Award will now bear his namesake henceforth as the Mike Jacobsen Bronze Wolverine Award.

Former UVU baseball standout Goose Kallunki also received special recognition, earning the inaugural All-American Wolverine Award. After a tremendous season last year, Kallunki became the first Wolverine in the D-I era to receive first team All-America honors.

For the second consecutive year, women's basketball's Sammie Jensen took home Outstanding Female Athlete honors. This season, Jensen won her second straight Great West Conference Player of the Year award. Mason Casper, last season's America Sky Conference Golfer of the Year and UVU's first golfer to appear at the NCAA Regional tournament, was the Outstanding Athlete on the men's side.

Other award winners are as follows:

Outstanding Female Athletes by Sport: Tiffany Mills (softball), Sammie Jensen (basketball), Erica Nish (volleyball), Regan Benson (soccer), Darian Sharp (cross country), Maryn Pincock (indoor track) McKell Camp-Nielson (outdoor track), Jordyn Dougal (golf)

Outstanding Male Athletes by Sport: Josh Wilson (wrestling), Kai Hatch (baseball), Cliff Nielson (cross country), Allah Laryea-Akrong (indoor track), Nicholas Taylor (outdoor track), Ben Aird (basketball), Mason Casper (golf)

Newcomer of the Year: Lauren Stringham (volleyball) and Jade Rauser (wrestling)

Most Inspirational Athlete: Regan Benson (soccer) and Brian Whatcott (baseball)

Goose Kallunki

Women's Play of the Year: Amanda Robinson hits a walk-off home run with two outs to lift UVU softball to a 3-1 conference victory over CSU Bakersfield

Men's Play of the Year: Outfielder Billy Burgess robs a would-be home run to help UVU baseball top crosstown rival BYU, 14-11

Individual Performance of the Year: Sammie Jensen (basketball) and Josh Wilson (wrestling)

Crowd Pleaser: Amanda Robinson (softball) and Allah Laryea-Akrong (indoor track)

Wilson Sorensen Spirit of Sport: Kaycee Mansfield (women's basketball) and Kai Hatch (baseball)

Assistant Coach of the Year: Dan Nielson (women's basketball)

Coach of the Year: Eric Madsen (baseball)

Athletic Service Award: Kelli Roach Barnes (track & field)

Walk-On of the Year: David Prieto (wrestling)

Educator of the Year: Dave Litchford

Advisor of the Year: Tara Ivie

Scholar Athlete of the Year: Erica Nish (volleyball) and Holton Hunsaker (men's basketball)

Women's Game of the Year: Soccer wins second straight Great West Conference title

Men's Game of the Year: Wrestling upsets No. 22 Air Force

Team GPA: Women's Basketball

Team Green: Track & Field

Wolverine Club Valedictorian Award: Sally Hansen (track & field)

Fan of the Year: Grant Richards

Bronze Wolverine Award: Mike Jacobsen

Team of the Year: Baseball

All-American Wolverine Award: Goose Kallunki

08/23/2014 - M. Soccer

Men's soccer edged 2-1 in exhibition

08/20/2014 - General Release

Wolverine Club hosts 21st annual Golf Classic