UVU Hands Out its 2012 Wolverine Club Athletic Awards

WOLVERINEGREENDOTCOM UVU track & field senior Zandrea Nelson.
UVU track & field senior Zandrea Nelson.

April 18, 2012

Photo Gallery

OREM, Utah -- The 2012 Wolverine Club Athletic Awards were held Wednesday night, April 18, at the ballroom on the campus of Utah Valley University. Some 400 student-athletes, athletic staff, and Wolverine Club members were in attendance to honor the achievements of UVU athletics during the 2011-12 seasons.

The Wolverine basketball teams swept the Athlete of the Year awards as reigning Great West Conference Players of the Year Sammie Jensen (Women's Basketball) and Isiah Williams (Men's Basketball) took home Outstanding Athlete honors.

Other award winners are as follows:

Outstanding Female Athletes by Sport: Amanda Robinson (Softball), Sammie Jensen (Basketball), Sarah Clement (Volleyball), Natalie Young (Soccer), Shelise Walker (Cross Country), Zandrea Nelson (Indoor Track) Tiera Zaugg-Hansen (Outdoor Track), Lynn-Marie Nagel (Golf)

Outstanding Male Athletes by Sport: Josh Wilson (Wrestling), Goose Kallunki (Baseball), Cliff Nielson (Cross Country), Allah Laryea-Akrong (Indoor Track), Joshua McCabe (Outdoor Track), Isiah Williams (Basketball), Mason Casper (Golf)

Newcomer of the Year: Tiffany Mills (Softball) and Ethan Smith (Wrestling)

Most Inspirational Athlete: Camille Broderick (Soccer) and Jake Rickenbach (Baseball)

Play of the Year: 4x400 Relay (Outdoor Track; needing a win in the 4x400 relay to clinch the conference championship, UVU's Skylar Burningham surged ahead in the final stretch of the race to give the Wolverines the title)

Individual Performance of the Year: Regan Benson (Soccer) and Mason Casper (Golf)

Crowd Pleaser: Erica Nish (Volleyball) and Keith Thompson (Men's Basketball)

Wilson Sorenson Spirit of Sport: Jenna Johnson (Women's Basketball) and Blake Mangum (Wrestling)

Assistant Coach of the Year: David Carter (Baseball)

Coach of the Year: Brent Anderson (Soccer)

Athletic Service Award: Kelli Roach (Track & Field)

Walk-On of the Year: Ali Shields (Outdoor Track) and Mark Jones (Outdoor Track)

Educators of the Year: Christopher Lee and Taggart Frost

Advisor of the Year: Kristen Campbell

Scholar Athlete of the Year: Zandrea Nelson (Track) and Billy Burgess (Baseball)

Game of the Year: Women's Cross Country (wins Great West Conference Title for the 4th straight year) and Baseball (knocks off fourth-ranked Arizona at Brent Brown Ballpark, 5-4)

Team GPA: Women's Golf

Team Green: Soccer

Bronze Wolverine Award: Hal and Brigitte Wing

Team of the Year: Men's Track & Field

07/28/2014 - Baseball

Baseball completes signing class