UVU Hands Out its 2011 Wolverine Club Athletic Awards

WOLVERINEGREENDOTCOM Softball senior Meghan Woodworth Yocom took home several awards on Wednesday.
Softball senior Meghan Woodworth Yocom took home several awards on Wednesday.

April 20, 2011

OREM, Utah -- The 2011 Wolverine Club Athletic Awards were held Wednesday April 20, 2011 in the ballroom at Utah Valley University. CLICK HERE to view a photo gallery from the awards show.

Kayli Doxey (Volleyball) was named the Female Athlete of the Year while All-American Benjamin Kjar (Wrestling) was named the department's Male Athlete of the Year.

The night's other award winners were:

Outstanding Female Athletes by Sport: Danielle Anderson (Soccer), Abbie Archibald (Golf), Kayli Doxey (Volleyball), Sammie Jensen (Basketball), Kodi Kleven (Cross Country and Outdoor Track), Becky Reeves (Indoor Track), Meghan Yocom (Softball).

Outstanding Male Athletes by Sport: Chris Benson (Baseball), Mason Casper (Golf), Benjamin Kjar (Wrestling), Allah Laryea-Akrong (Indoor Track), Joshua McCabe (Cross Country and Outdoor Track) and Isiah Williams (Basketball).

Newcomer of the Year: Josi Summers (Softball) and Isiah Williams (Men's Basketball).

Most Inspirational Athlete: Meghan Yocom (Softball) and Flint Ray (Wrestling).

Play of the year: Soccer (picked up its first-ever win over Idaho State with a 2-0 victory and added a last second insurance goal from Nicole Archibald Spencer) and men's basketball (managed to upset Oregon State on the road thanks to some last second free throws from Jordan Swarbrick by a score of 70-68).

Individual Performance of the Year: Kodi Kleven (Outdoor Track - broke the 5000m run school record as a freshman) and Benjamin Kjar (Wrestling - placed fourth at the NCAA Championships to become UVU's first-ever wrestling All-American).

Crowd Pleaser: Katey Turner (Soccer) and Chris Benson (Baseball).

Wilson Sorensen Spirit of Sport: Lauren Bluth (Soccer) and Austin Heaps (Baseball).

Assistant Coach of the Year: Mike Kelly (Men's Basketball).

Coach of the Year: Eric Madsen (Baseball).

Athletic Service Award: Justin Baker (Men's Basketball).

Walk-On of the Year: Mason Casper (Men's Golf).

Educators of the Year: Bena Martin and Laurie Wood

Scholar Athlete of the Year: Meghan Yocom (Softball) and Joshua McCabe (Cross Country).

Game of the Year: Volleyball at the 11-0 Utah State Aggies (The Women's Volleyball managed to come back from a two sets to none deficit on the road to hand Utah State its first loss of the season.) and Baseball at the 2010 GWC Championship game vs. Northern Colorado (the baseball team battled back from a 3-1 deficit in the eighth inning to win the conference championship 4-3 in the 10th inning after a walk-off hit from Kevin Arendse).

Team GPA: Women's Basketball

Team Green: Women's Basketball

Bronze Wolverine Award: Dr. Melissa McLane

Team of the Year: Baseball

08/30/2014 - Cross Country

Wolverines open season strong at USU Invite

08/27/2014 - M. Soccer

2014 Men's soccer season preview

08/27/2014 - W. Volleyball

Wolverine volleyball: 2014 season preview