Two track athletes to represent UVU at Junior Nationals

WOLVERINEGREENDOTCOM Freshman Mykah Heaton
WOLVERINEGREENDOTCOM
Freshman Mykah Heaton
WOLVERINEGREENDOTCOM

June 18, 2013

OREM, Utah - Utah Valley University track & field freshmen Brandon Edmondson and Mykah Heaton will represent the Wolverines at the 2013 USA Junior Outdoor Track & Field Championships in Des Moines, Iowa, this weekend.

The championship track meet will take place at Drake Stadium on the campus of Drake University. The meet will begin Wednesday and will conclude on Sunday and will consist of the top junior athletes, ages 16-19, in the nation.

Edmondson will compete in the 1500m run on Friday at 1:30 p.m. CT/12:30 p.m. MT while Heaton will take part in the 400m hurdles Friday at 3:00 p.m. CT/2:00 p.m. MT.

The finals for both of their races will then be held on Saturday afternoon. For a complete schedule of events visit usatf.org by Clicking Here.

Edmondson met the qualifying time of 3:57.64 by running the 1500m in 3:53.51 at the Azusa Pacific Bryan Clay Invitational in Azusa, Calif., on April 19 while Heaton qualified in the 400m hurdles by running it in 1:01.88 at the BYU Robison Invitational in Provo on April 26.

The top finishers of each event at the Junior Nationals will then represent the red, white and blue at the 2013 Pan Am Junior Athletics Championship that will take place in Medellin, Colombia, on August 23-25.