Wolverines open Great West season Friday at NJIT

WOLVERINEGREENDOTCOM Riley White
WOLVERINEGREENDOTCOM
Riley White
WOLVERINEGREENDOTCOM

April 3, 2013

LIVE AUDIO  |  LIVE STATS  |  LIVE VIDEO

OREM, Utah --
Utah Valley University and NJIT open the final Great West Conference baseball this season with a four-game series beginning Friday from Bears & Eagles Riverfront Stadium in Newark, N.J.

The Last Meeting
NJIT7
Utah Valley11
April 28, 2012
Orem, Utah
23 Straight as Wolverines Complete Sweep of NJIT
Utah Valley University pushed its win streak to 23 games in completing a four-game sweep of NJIT, 11-7, on Saturday afternoon at Brent Brown Ballpark. The Wolverines (30-11) clinched their third straight 30-win season and remained perfect in Great West Conference play at 16-0.

Due to rain in the forecast, the opener has been moved up to noon ET/10 a.m. MT with a Saturday doubleheader beginning at 1 p.m. ET/11 a.m. MT. Sunday’s series finale is slated for noon ET/10 a.m. MT.

The Wolverines (9-17) have lost six straight after an 8-0 defeat at BYU on Tuesday. NJIT (8-14) is coming off of a 10-6 win on Wednesday at home over Fairfield.

Utah Valley has won all 13 prior meetings between the schools, but two seasons ago in Newark saw the clubs play three extra-inning games during a four-game series.

After UVU scored twice in the ninth to win the opener 5-3, it took the Wolverines 14 innings to win 9-8, 11 innings to win 2-0 and finally, another 14-inning contest in the finale, an 8-3 victory. In total, the teams played 57 innings in less than a 48 hour timeframe.

The Wolverines open league play with a 29-game Great West winning streak and have won 44 of their last 45 regular season conference games. UVU is 76-4 all-time in the GWC regular season.

Next week, Utah Valley will return home to host Houston Baptist in a rematch of last season’s tournament final. The series starts Thursday, April 11 in Orem.