Brackets set for Men's & Women's WAC Basketball Tournament

WOLVERINEGREENDOTCOM Keawe Enos
WOLVERINEGREENDOTCOM
Keawe Enos
WOLVERINEGREENDOTCOM

March 8, 2014

2014 WAC Tournament Brackets Get Acrobat Reader

WAC Tournament Central

DENVER -- The 2014 Men's and Women's WAC Tournament brackets were set Saturday night following the final day of action in the regular season. The Utah Valley men, the 2013-14 WAC regular season champions, open play on Thursday, March 15 against Texas-Pan American at noon PT/1 p.m. MT at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas.

The Wolverine women will play the final game of the day on Wednesday, March 12, against Bakersfield. Tip for that game is schedule for 8:30 p.m. PT/9:30 p.m. MT. The women are the No. 7 seed.

The men wrapped up the outright conference title on Friday night, fighting off a valiant Bakersfield comeback to win 64-55 behind 16 points from Holton Hunsaker and 14 from Mitch Bruneel. Bruneel keyed a late 9-0 run with seven points including the go-head 3-pointer with 2:34 remaining.

With Friday's win, UVU moved to 19-10 overall and finished 13-3 in the WAC regular season. Texas-Pan American was edged in overtime, 79-78, against Grand Canyon on Saturday night. The Broncs were 5-11 in the regular season, finishing in a three-way tie with Seattle U and Bakersfield and were the No. 8 seed due to tiebreakers.

Utah Valley won at UTPA, 67-53, on Jan. 30, and also edged the Broncs in a low-scoring affair at home on March 1, 45-42.

The Wolverine women fell in the regular season finale at Bakersfield on Saturday, 66-51, to finish 4-12 in their first WAC season. Utah Valley lost at home to Bakersfield on Jan. 4 by just two points, 61-59. Idaho's women's team won the regular season title with a 15-1 league record and is the top seed.

All games during the WAC Tournament will stream live on WACSports.tv.