Hunsaker named DI-AAA Scholar-Athlete of the Year



March 31, 2014

CLEVELAND -- Utah Valley University senior Holton Hunsaker has been named the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association (DI-AAA ADA) Scholar-Athlete of the Year and to the Scholar-Athlete Team, it was announced on Monday by the association.

It marks the second straight year that Hunsaker, also a second-team Capital One Academic All-America honoree, has been named to the scholar-athlete team. He holds a 3.88 cumulative GPA and will graduate in April with a degree in accounting.

"What terrific recognition for Holton and his efforts to maximize his educational opportunity," said UVU head coach Dick Hunsaker. "It's special to have Utah Valley University's academic programs acknowledged through our student-athletes."

Hunsaker has a long list of athletic and academic awards and honors to his name in addition to the DI-AAA Scholar-Athlete of the Year and Academic All-America. A first-team All-WAC player after leading the Wolverines to the WAC regular season title, Hunsaker is also a two-time Capital One Academic All-District 8 Team member, the 2012-13 Great West Conference Scholar-Athlete of the Year, a three-time All-Great West Conference performer and a two-time Academic All-Great West Conference selection.

"This means a lot to me and my family," said Holton. "I'm very appreciative of the academic advisors and my professors and for what they've done to help me during my time at UVU."

In total, 10 mens's and 10 women's basketball players were named to the 12th Annual DI-AAA ADA Scholar-Athlete Teams. Hunsaker is the only player on the team from the WAC on the mens' side while two players, Eilise O'Connor (Kansas City) and Kacie Sowell (Seattle U), represent the WAC on the women's team.

“Our Association prides itself in honoring our student-athletes for both their on-field and academic achievements each year,” stated Tim Hall, chair of the Division I-AAA ADA Scholar-Athlete Team Selection Committee and athletics director at the University of Maryland Baltimore County. “We want to congratulate this year’s scholar-athlete award winners, the scholar-athletes of the year and the Postgraduate Scholarship recipients for their outstanding accomplishments.”



About Division I-AAA ADA: Now in its 13th year, the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance initiatives common to its Division I-AAA membership (the 99 Division I institutions that do not sponsor football), in particular, aspects related to their flagship basketball programs. For more information on the Division I-AAA ADA, please visit The Division I-AAA ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 49th year. For more information on NACDA and the 13 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit

Men's Scholar-Athlete Team

Richard Bader, Oakland University 3.51 Communications
Holton Hunsaker, Utah Valley University 3.88 Accounting
Malte Kramer, Pepperdine University 4.00 Economics
Walt Lemon, Bradley University 3.38 Psychology
John Stuart Mann, Belmont University 3.51 Economics/Minor Spanish
Ryan Nicholas, Pepperdine University 3.52 Psychology
Matthew Stainbrook, Xavier University 3.34 Finance
Thomas Van der Mars, University of Portland 3.95 Operations & Technology Management
Ethan Wragge, Creighton University 3.22 Finance, Marketing, Entrepreneurship
Corban Wroe, University of Hartford 3.72 Health Science/Physical Therapy