Three Wolverines qualify for match play at State Am

Kalea Heu

Aug. 7, 2013

MIDWAY, Utah - Utah Valley University women's golfers Brooke Bliss Whittaker, Hannah Herman and Kalea Heu all qualified for the match play portion of the Utah Women's State Amateur Championship on Tuesday. The trio of Wolverines will begin match play Wednesday morning at the Wasatch Mountain Golf Course in Midway, Utah.

With three golfers advancing to the match play rounds, Utah Valley had more golfers than any other collegiate program in the state. BYU was next with two, while Southern Utah, Weber State and Dixie State each had one qualify.

Bliss Whittaker led UVU in the stroke play rounds as she placed 10th with a score of 150 (76-74), while Herman (77-74) and Heu (74-77) each tied for 13th as they finished one stroke back (151). Bliss Whittaker and Herman will both be juniors at Utah Valley this fall while Heu will be a sophomore.

In all, eight golfers who have ties to UVU competed in the tournament. Departing senior Jordyn Dougal just missed the cut as she shot a 153 (79-74), while junior Heather Mathison (156 - 84-72), head coach Sue Nyhus (158 - 78-80), incoming freshman Monica Yeates (165 - 87-78) and redshirt freshman Kimberly Nyhus (167 - 83-84) also played well at the State Am. Mathison's 72 on Tuesday was the second lowest score of the day.



The top 16 finishers qualified into the match play rounds and will begin their quest for a State Amateur title Wednesday morning.

Heu is set to take on defending champion Kelsey Chugg at 9:40 a.m., while Herman will square off against Sirene Blair at 10:28 a.m. and Bliss Whittaker will match up against Randi Stephens at 10:36 a.m.

Match Play Pairings
Wednesday morning
Wasatch Mountain Lake Course
Round of 16

9:40- Kelsey Chugg vs. Kalea Heu
10:28- Sirene Blair vs. Hannah Herman
10:36- Randi Stephens vs. Brooke Whittaker

Wednesday Afternoon

2:45- Winners of 9:40 and 9:48 matches
2:53- Winners of 9:56 and 10:04 matches
3:01- Winners of 10:12 and 10:20 matches
3:09- Winners of 10:28 and 10:36 matches

Semifinals - Thursday at 7:35 am

Finals - Thursday at noon