PCSC names seven Wolverines to all-conference teams

WOLVERINEGREENDOTCOM Junior first baseman Amanda Robinson
Junior first baseman Amanda Robinson

May 21, 2013

PORTLAND -- The Pacific Coast Softball Conference announced Tuesday its 2013 all-conference teams, a list that features seven student-athletes from Utah Valley University. UVU saw one representative selected to the first team, four tabbed for the second team, and two more listed as honorable mention.

Junior first baseman Amanda Robinson was the lone Wolverine to land on the PCSC first team, while senior outfielder Kylee Brinkerhoff, senior shortstop Kyrstin Jachim, senior pitcher Tiffany Mills, and sophomore catcher Jamie North combined to occupy one-third of the total spots on the second team. Rounding out UVU's honors as honorable mention were sophomore utility player Kelli Fox and sophomore pitcher Josi Summers.

The all-conference teams and the individual award winners were voted on by the PCSC's seven head coaches and were based solely upon their play in conference games only.

In earning the second first team selection of her career, Robinson finished the season with a .354 batting average alongside 31 RBIs and a team-high seven home runs. In league play only, the junior batted .337 and led UVU in RBIs with 14 RBIs. She also had three homers during the PCSC season, including a three-run, walk-off shot against CSU Bakersfield on March 30. She was he only unanimous decision for first team honors, sweeping all seven votes at the first base position.

A native of Lakewood, Calif., Robinson was also named first team All-PCSC two seasons ago, closing her freshman campaign with Newcomer of the Year honors.



A senior in her second season after transferring from Salt Lake Community College, Brinkerhoff earned her first postseason accolade from the PCSC in her selection to the second team. For the season, the outfielder batted .333 -- good for third on the squad -- with 18 RBIs and a pair of round-trippers. She also led the Wolverines with 13 stolen bases on the year. A steady defensive presence, the Spanish Fork, Utah, native led all UVU outfielders in putouts (35) while posting a flawless fielding percentage of 1.000.

Jachim, a shortstop, joined Brinkerhoff on the second team after finishing third in the PCSC in batting at .375 and leading UVU in RBIs with 33. In PCSC-only play, she finished with a .338 batting average, eight RBIs, two homers, and a team-best .441 on-base percentage. A senior from Roy, Utah, Jachim was named All-PCSC honorable mention a season ago.

A first-teamer in 2012, pitcher Mills followed a record-setting junior stint with another impressive season as a senior. The Riverside, Calif., product went 17-13 with a 1.67 ERA, easily setting the single-season school record for earned run average. That mark became even more baffling in league-only play, as it dipped to a remarkable 1.05 in 93.1 innings pitched. In PCSC-only contests, Mills led the conference in ERA, was second in wins (7) and opponent batting average (.189), and finished fourth in strikeouts (64).

North, another first team honoree last season, earned UVU's fourth spot on the second team. Despite only batting .183 for the season, the sophomore catcher from Placentia, Calif., found another gear in PCSC play, posting a .224 average to go along with eight RBIs and one home run.

After missing the 2012 season due to injury, pitcher Summers made a strong return in 2013. The redshirt sophomore turned in a 13-7 record with a 2.28 ERA and 130 strikeouts. In conference-only play she was equally impressive, going 7-2 with a 1.48 ERA and combining with Mills to create one of the top pitching tandems in the league. Summers' selection All-PCSC honorable mention selection marks the second time the Tremonton, Utah, native has earned all-conference recognition, as she was a second team performer during her freshman year in 2011.

Fellow sophomore Fox was also named honorable mention after batting .272 on the season with a .310 mark in PCSC play. She had four RBIs on the season, two of which came during the league season. Defensively, Fox was solid in conference play, maintaining a perfect fielding percentage of 1.000. It is the first postseason accolade for Fox in her career at UVU.

BYU and Loyola Marymount, the PCSC's first and second place finishers, garnered each of the league's individual awards between them. BYU shortstop JC Clayton and LMU second baseman Sterling Shuster shared Player of the Year honors. Sydney Gouveia, a true freshman pitcher for the Lions, was named Pitcher of the Year while the Cougars' head man Gordon Eakin received Coach of the Year recognition.

Utah Valley concluded its final season as members of the PCSC with an overall record of 35-20 -- a new program best for wins in a season. The Wolverines also went 14-10 in league play to finish in third place, two spots better than they were picked in the preseason coaches' poll. UVU softball will compete in the WAC next season.


C Megan Smith SR Saint Mary’s
1B Amanda Robinson -# JR Utah Valley
2B Sterling Shuster SO Loyola Marymount
3B Meghan Harman JR Loyola Marymount
SS J.C. Clayton -! SR BYU
SS Shay Fryer -! JR CSU Bakersfield
OF Gordy Bravo FR BYU
OF Karissa Veiga** JR CSU Bakersfield
OF Alexandra Shamo SR BYU
UTL Bailie Hicken SR BYU
P-UTL Katie Manuma JR BYU
P Sydney Gouveia FR Loyola Marymount
P Cassidy Coleman JR San Diego

C Jamie North SO Utah Valley
1B Caitlin Rooney SO San Diego
2B Coco Tauali’i FR BYU
3B Madisen Robb JR BYU
SS Krystin Jachim SR Utah Valley
OF Brittany Sabatini JR Saint Mary’s
OF Kylee Brinkerhoff SR Utah Valley
OF Hannah Montalban FR Loyola Marymount
UTL Mary Grabowski FR San Diego
P-UTL Amber Mills FR CSU Bakersfield
P Tiffany Mills SR Utah Valley
P Hannah Howell SR BYU

C Charly Swanberg JR San Diego
C Nicole Clowdus FR Loyola Marymount
1B Kelly Scribner JR Santa Clara
3B Chloe Kaneko SO San Diego
OF Laura King SR CSU Bakersfield
UTL Kelli Fox SO Utah Valley
UTL Olivia Alvarez SR Loyola Marymount
P Josi Summers SO Utah Valley
P Kelsie Monroe SO CSU Bakersfield

*-  Number of first team selections
# - Unanimous selection.
! – Tie
Co-PLAYER OF THE YEAR: JC Clayton (SR, SS), BYU; Sterling Shuster (SO, 2B), Loyola Marymount 
PITCHER OF THE YEAR: Sydney Gouveia (FR), Loyola Marymount